Commonwealth Scholarship for Oxford University: Apply by April 17

Oxford University has recently announced a call for applications for the Commonwealth Scholarship for the academic year starting September 2015.

The scholarship is open to students from India and covers funding for a part time Master’s in International Human Rights Law.


The scholarships will be open to candidates from Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

Candidates usually need to be Commonwealth citizens of one of the eligible countries AND be permanent residents and currently resident in a developing Commonwealth country at the time of application and throughout the program.

They will also need to meet the eligibility criteria for the course itself which are set out on our Admissions pages HERE.

The scholarships will not be open to students who have deferred entry from a previous year.


The Commonwealth Scholarships are funded by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission and a secondary donor.

They provide course and college fees at Oxford University over two years plus return air travel from the scholar’s home country for each residential session.


If you are interested in applying, please read the guidance note HERE about the scheme to check you meet the eligibility criteria (for both the course and the scholarship).

Then follow the instructions to submit an application to the University’s online application system remembering to use the scholarship code given in the guidance note (this is very important).

Last Date

The closing date for applications is noon on Friday 17 April.

Late or incomplete applications will not be considered.


in your inbox

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.